Neil's Yard Remedies - My review

 
 

Hi everyone! so I have been fortunate to have been gifted some lovely items from Neil's Yard to try out. In the box I received: Beauty Cream - Body lotion, White Tea face mask, Neils Yard's Beauty Book and the Frankincense Intense Beauty Boost pills which I unfortunately unable to try out as I am currently on medication and also pregnant so I didn't want to mix the two. However i have my lovely sister try out the pills for me and give me a short review. more below. 

 
 

On December the 4th in 1981 Neil's Yard open their store in CoventGarden in England. They stand for using natural ingredients rather than synthetics. 

 
We believe in nature, honesty and transparency, and your right to know what goes into the products you buy
— https://www.nealsyardremedies.com/about-us-pages/about-us.html
 

I love how there is great transparency on their site which is packed with information about where they stand regarding animal testing, ethical sourcing, charity, packaging and so much more that you can read on their website. 

I learned about Neils Yard a few years ago when I used to work in a office in central London. A few of our colleagues became pregnant and we thought it was a great idea to get a pampering gift for the mummies to be. So I used to go in to the store to get their Mother Organic Collection. I would spend some time browsing the store and seeing what they had to offer. I was always pleasantly greeted and told out their latest items. I loved their packaging and the overall feel of the store.

Over the years I grew a interest in natural products and overall getting to know the ingredients in the beauty items I was using. It really important to educate ourselves on what we put on and in our bodies - including our hair. 

 

 

Frankincense Intense - beauty boots supplements

Facetune_02-08-2018-22-36-17.JPG
Facetune_02-08-2018-22-30-07.JPG
 Thanks to my sister for testing them on my behalf 

Thanks to my sister for testing them on my behalf 

 

The pills contain Biotin and Vitamin C which I know is great for skin repair and hair/nail growth. So that peaked my interest. However looking at the amount of the thats in the pills (which is 250ug Biotin) I can understand why they would use sayid  it would "contributes to the maintenance" rather than improve  growth. But in time will see how it works for the skin, hair and nails. 

My sister suffers from mild acne (as I did in the past) and was quite excited to give these pills a try to see how it would benefit her skin. She found that  the pills didn't have any odd smell or taste which is great with natural products. She tired it for 3 weeks and didn't find a massive change to her skin hair or nails but would suggest trying it for  a few more weeks as it might take a bit longer to show a result. I personally noticed her skin clearing up a bit however that could be her taking more water and being out in the sun more but hopefully w will know more in a few more weeks .


 

WHITE TEA - ENRICHED FACIAL MASK

I tried the mask for two weeks straight in order to get a real feel of the mask. On touch I found the clay based mask nice, thick and moisturising but not oily. After applying a thin and even layer it didn't take long to dry which was great.  And washing it off was quite straight forward. On the website this white tea and kaolin clay is meant to make your skin feel plump and reduce the appearance of fine wrinkles and to detox. As I don't have any wrinkles (at this stage in life) I couldn't see the effect there. However it did leave my skin feeling soft and somewhat clearer. I didn't think it had a strong smell and found it quite nice as it didn't flake off while waiting for it to dry.  I found it great that while I was looking at the ingredients on their website they had images which more information about certain ingredients. Its those little details that I like. 

Screen Shot 2018-08-13 at 12.07.20.png
 PICTURE OF THE MASK OPEN 

PICTURE OF THE MASK OPEN 

 My face covered in goodness 

My face covered in goodness 

 My skin after using the item for two weeks twice a week 

My skin after using the item for two weeks twice a week 

 

 

BEAUTY SLEEP - BODY BUTTER

 

As the name suggested used it at night and before bed time to get the full effect. It has a lovely deep fragrance of Ylang Ylang and Patchouli Essential Oils mixed with my old time favourite Shea butter. Which made the butter feel rich and thick which at first I did find the butter a bit hard to rub in to my skin. It required a bit of work for it to be fully absorbed. However once it was on - IT WAS ON. My skin was left feeling super moisturised and soft. And did I sleep well at night? I believe I as I didn't hear any complaints from the husband :)   

 item of the lotion - open 

item of the lotion - open 

 the lotion on my legs or arms after a few rubs 

the lotion on my legs or arms after a few rubs 

 
 

 

BEAUTY BOOK

Facetune_01-08-2018-15-05-48.JPG
 

 Knowledge is power!! - and it was such a blessing to have this book as it did not only explain ingredients that you find in their products but also recipes and massage techniques and so much more. They also have a number of other books that they sell on their site. I found a quick and easy receipt for bath bombs see below how that went:

 

DIY BATH MELTS

 
 ingredients: Almond oil - Neroli oil - Cacao Butter 

ingredients: Almond oil - Neroli oil - Cacao Butter 

 The tools used 

The tools used 

 *Optional Lavender Oil for some soothing fragerance 

*Optional Lavender Oil for some soothing fragerance 

 
 around 2 cups of water on in the pot on low fire

around 2 cups of water on in the pot on low fire

 I made sure to use a glass bowl thats heat resistant

I made sure to use a glass bowl thats heat resistant

 
 
 around 50g of solid cocoa oil which took around 2-3 mins to melt  

around 50g of solid cocoa oil which took around 2-3 mins to melt  

 It took around 2-3 mins to melt in the bowl - still on the fire

It took around 2-3 mins to melt in the bowl - still on the fire

 
 
 adding the almond oil

adding the almond oil

 a few drops of Neroli oil 

a few drops of Neroli oil 

 
 
 before it went in to the fridge to chill

before it went in to the fridge to chill

 around 2-3 hours to chill. Straight out of the fridge 

around 2-3 hours to chill. Straight out of the fridge 

 
 
 I wanted a direct feel so I applied it to my aam. And my whole body felt moisturised. 

I wanted a direct feel so I applied it to my aam. And my whole body felt moisturised. 

 In to the hot bath and it took a few minutes to melt. Only bad point was that it stained the bath with oils so I had to clean the bath after such a relaxing bath. 

In to the hot bath and it took a few minutes to melt. Only bad point was that it stained the bath with oils so I had to clean the bath after such a relaxing bath. 

 
 

 

The icing on the cake was the book as I like to make my own products it helped me explore a bit more and learn new tricks in terms of making homemade natural cosmetics

Hopefully you have enjoyed this review and I would defiantly recommend you having a look at Neil's Yards website and popping in to their stores to have a closer look and feel of their products. 

  feel free to comment and let me know what you think or have tried yourself xx 

 

Until next time

XOXO Rose